Classes to Prepare for the HiSet® or GED Exams

The HiSET Test and the GED Exam are two different tests that you can take as an alternative to receiving a high school diploma.   Both the HiSet® & GED® certificates are recognized by schools, vocational training programs, and employers as equivalent to the high school diploma.

GED® & HiSet® (High School Equivalency Test)

To take a class, first complete the CCSF Noncredit application.

About the Exams

The High School Equivalency Test (HiSet®) Exam

The HiSet® exam is the new alternative to the GED® test. Passing this test demonstrates that you have achieved the academic knowledge and proficiency equivalent to those of a high school graduate.

The HiSet® exam includes the following five subtests:

  • Language Arts - Reading (65 minutes long)
  • Language Arts - Writing (120 minutes long)
  • Mathematics (90 minutes long)
  • Science (80 minutes long)
  • Social Studies (70 minutes long)

Visit the HiSet® website to learn more


GED® is a national examination that consists of five subtests: Language Arts Writing I and II, Language Arts Reading, Mathematics, Social Studies, and Science. To earn a GED® Diploma, you must pass all five subtests with a minimum score of 410 points and a minimum total score of 2,250 points. This test will be about 7.5 hours long with the timing for each module as follows:

  • Language Arts (150 minutes, including a 10-minute break)
  • Mathematics (115 minutes) 
  • Science (90 minutes)
  • Social Studies (90 minutes)

Visit the GED® website to learn more