What to Expect on the HiSET and GED

The HiSET and GED exams cover core subject areas that allow you to demonstrate that you have attained the knowledge equivalent to a high school graduate. Use the information below to learn more about what to expect on the test!

HiSET Test Content

The HiSET exam is given in both English and Spanish, and includes five subtests that you can schedule to take in any order:

  • Language Arts - Reading
  • Language Arts - Writing
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Social Studies

GED Test Content

The 2014 GED test is designed to measure the skills and knowledge equivalent to a high school course of study and supports an adult’s successful transition to careers or college.

The GED test has four content areas and takes roughly seven and a half hours:

  • Reasoning Through Language Arts
  • Mathematical Reasoning
  • Social Studies
  • Science