

The Academic Senate

CITY COLLEGE OF SAN FRANCISCO 50 Phelan Avenue, Box E-202, San Francisco, CA 94112 • (415) 239-3611 • Fax (415) 452-5115 www.ccsf.edu/academic-senate • email: asenate@ccsf.edu

Curriculum • Degree Requirements • Grading Policies • Program Development • Student Prep & Success • Governance Accreditation • Professional Development • Program Review • Planning & Budgeting Processes • Others as agreed

### CCSF Academic Senate Executive Council <u>FINAL MINUTES</u> Wednesday, October 21, 2015, 2:30 - 3:00 p.m. Ocean Campus, MUB 140

**2015–2016 Council Members Present**: Steven Brown, Lennis Carlson, Neela Chatterlee, Cynthia Dewar, Dayo Diggs, Matthew Duckworth, Lawrence Edwardson, Veronica Feliu, Maria Heredia, Dana Jae Labrecque, Mandy Liang, Lillian Marrujo-Duck, Sheila McFarland, Amy McLanahan, Carol Reitan, Pablo Rodriguez, Lisa Romano, Denise Selleck, Coni Staff

**2015–2016 Council Members Absent:** Susan Berston, Ms. Bob Davis, Donna Hayes, Ghislaine Maze, Wendy Miller, Madeline Mueller, Todd Rigg Carriero

Other Senate Members Present: Monica Bosson, Leslie Simon

Guests: Lidia Jenkins.

- I. Call to Order 2:40
- II. Adoption of Agenda. Agenda adopted.

#### III. Consent Agenda.

A. Appointment of Susan Lopez as Enrollment Coordinator.

#### **Resolution 2015.10.21.01: Adult Enrollment Management Coordinator.**

Whereas important college outreach efforts have been led by faculty and staff on a volunteer basis for the past two years; and

Whereas the AEBG program focuses on adult education and outreach efforts are integral to the implementation of the block grant; and

Whereas Susan Lopez has volunteered countless hours to organize and lead efforts focused on the recruitment of adult students; be it therefore

Resolved, that Susan Lopez be appointed as the adult enrollment coordinator for Spring 2016

#### **IV. Informational Item:**

A. Curriculum Committee minutes.

### V. Appointments.

### **Resolution 2015.10.21.02:** Appointments

### 02a. Nominations to Committees with Unlimited Membership

#### Scholarship

o Kendra Lockman - Mathematics

o Ben Machado – Biology

o Matthew Parkhurst - Foreign Languages

- o Crima Pogge Biology (reappointment)
- o Carole Toebe Biology (reappointment)

# Moved: Steven Brown; Seconded: Coni Staff; MCU.

**Not Present:** Susan Berston, Ms. Bob Davis, Donna Hayes, Ghislaine Maze, Wendy Miller, Madeline Mueller, Todd Rigg Carriero.

#### 02b. Nominations to Committees with Limited membership

**Basic Skills** o John Gravener – English (replaces Erlinda Legaspi)

#### **International Education Advisory**

o Quinci Lee – Counseling Services (reappointment)

**Moved:** Lenny Carlson; **Seconded:** Steven Brown. **MCU. Not Present:** Susan Berston, Ms. Bob Davis, Donna Hayes, Ghislaine Maze, Wendy Miller, Madeline Mueller, Todd Rigg Carriero.

#### 02c. District-Level Committees and Task force/Workgroups

**Planning Committee** o Loren Bell –English (reappointment)

**Moved:** Matthew Duckworth; **Seconded:** Steven Brown; **MCU. Not Present:** Susan Berston, Ms. Bob Davis, Donna Hayes, Ghislaine Maze, Wendy Miller, Madeline Mueller, Todd Rigg Carriero.

#### VI. Old Business:

#### A. EASE Task Force Report.

#### Resolution 2015.10.21.03: EASE Task Force Report.

Whereas City College has a history of working to address equity issues across the college, and

Whereas the July 2013 decision letter from ACCJC cites "...the Commission determined that City College of San Francisco does not yet meet Standard IIB1 and reports from 2012 and 2014 ACCJC accreditation visits, cite major concerns regarding the District's ability to provide equitable student services across the District. (Standard IIB1 "...the institution assures equitable access to all of its students by providing appropriate comprehensive and reliable services to students regardless of service location or delivery method..."); and

Whereas, Chancellor Lamb convened an Equal Access to Services Emergency (EASE) Task Force with representation from students, classified staff, counseling department chairs and faculty, administrators, and Center Deans within the Student services Division to address equitable access to student services at the centers across the District; and

Whereas, the EASE Task Force members logged in 1,154+ hours working collaboratively, diligently, and thoughtfully, to assess current services, identify gaps in those services and develop a 80 page action plan to improve access for students to the Centers; and

Whereas, the October 2015 EASE Plan successfully addresses accreditation findings in regards to gaps in services and outlines a means of providing equitable services across the Centers at CCSF; be it therefore,

Resolved that the Academic Senate Executive Council commend the EASE Task Force on its hard work and support the EASE action plan; and be it further,

Resolved that the Academic Senate Executive Council thank the EASE Task Force for a job well done.

**Moved:** Lisa Romano; **Seconded:** Dana Jae Labrecque; **MCU. Not Present:** Susan Berston, Ms. Bob Davis, Donna Hayes, Ghislaine Maze, Wendy Miller, Madeline Mueller, Todd Rigg Carriero.

#### VII. New Business A. SSSP Plan.

# Resolution 2015.10.21.04: October 15, 2015 Credit and Noncredit SSSP Plan.

Resolved, that the Academic Senate recommend the October 15, 2015 Credit and Noncredit SSSP Plan.

**Moved:** Steven Brown; **Seconded:** Coni Staff; **MCU. Not Present:** Susan Berston, Ms. Bob Davis, Donna Hayes, Ghislaine Maze, Wendy Miller, Madeline Mueller, Todd Rigg Carriero.

B. Project Survive Tree of Life Mural.

# **Resolution 2015.10.21.05: Project Survive Tree of Life Mural.**

Resolved, that the Academic Senate recommend the inclusion of the Tree of Life painting in the Poetry Garden.

**Moved:** Steven Brown; **Seconded:** Carol Reitan; **MCU. Not Present:** Susan Berston, Ms. Bob Davis, Donna Hayes, Ghislaine Maze, Wendy Miller, Madeline Mueller, Todd Rigg Carriero.

VIII. Adjourned 3:20

Next Academic Senate Meeting Wednesday, November 4, 2015, 2:30-5:00 John Adams, Room 139 Committee on Committees, 2:00-2:30