CCSF ACADEMIC SENATE EXECUTIVE COUNCIL

Wednesday, May 13, 2009 Ocean Campus, Rosenberg R518

Council Members Present: Mary Bravewoman, Beth Cataldo, Nora Goodfriend-Koven, Lynda Hirose, Hal Huntsman, Tore Eldor Langmo, Renato Larin, Suzanne Lo, Elliott Osborne, Marie Osborne, Luz Maria Pena, Francine Podenski, Indiana Quadra, Maria Rosales-Uribe, Karen Saginor, Leticia Silva, Jane Sneed, Fred Teti, Edgar Torres, Trinh T. Tran, Ellen Wall, David Yee

Council Members Absent: Steven Brown, Michael Estrada, Denise Quinn, Lisa Romano

Other Senate Members Present: Julia Bergman, Ophelia Clark, Sue Homer, Rudolfo Padilla

Guests: Kyle Dang, Katie Gelardi

New 2009 – 10 Council Members Present: Bob Davis, Beth Freedman, Christine Francisco, Matthew Holsten, Carmen Lamha, Susan Lopez, Glenn Nance, Enrique Mireles, Bill Shields, Ardel Thomas, Carlos Webster

I. Call to Order

The Academic Senate Executive Council came to order at 2:39 pm.

II. Adoption of Agenda

Council adopted the agenda.

III. Approval of Minutes: April 29, 2009

Council approved the minutes of April 29 with corrections.

IV. Officers' Reports

President Huntsman reported that:

- At the May 5 Planning and Budgeting Council, the Chancellor and members of the Council identified areas in which the College could look for savings.
- Huntsman distributed copies of the May 11 draft of the Timetable for Strategic Planning. This
 document will be discussed by the Executive Council at a meeting next fall.
- Faculty are invited to participate in the Chancellor's Evaluation by printing the form from the link on the Academic Senate Web site.
- Madeline Mueller and Ophelia Clark have resigned from Council. Bob Davis and Susan Lopez will be seated to complete the remaining year of their terms.

1st Vice President Torres reported that 75 City College students receiving Latino Educational Association Scholarships will be honored at a reception on May 14.

Secretary Saginor thanked her colleagues on this year's Council and invited next year's Council members to listen to each other and to evaluate information carefully when making decisions.

V. Committee Appointments

Resolution 2009.05.09.01 Shared Governance Committee Appointments – Limited Membership.

Resolved, that the Academic Senate Executive Council approve the appointments to shared governance committees with limited membership, as recommended by the Committee on Committees.

Moved: Podenski; seconded: Larin; motion carried unanimously. Appendix A.

VI. Unfinished Business

- A. Review of Changes to Proposed Naming Policy.

 Executive Council reviewed the document. No changes were made.
- B. Review of Changes to Center for Teaching and Learning Coordinators Position. Executive Council reviewed the document. No changes were made.

VII. New Business

A. Discussion: Brown Act and Protocol – Francine Podenski.

The Brown Act, with the intent of requiring that public business be transacted in public, prohibits a majority of members from meeting separately to discuss business. Council members discussed the spirit and letter of this law for the protocols of Executive Council. Related to this issue, Council discussed the implications of an officer or council member meeting confidentially about upcoming Senate business, as Huntsman and other council members had met with students before introducing the Student Equity resolution. This issue was tabled to the next meeting of the Executive Council.

B. Update on Administrator Evaluations – David Yee.

Because administrators have retreat rights and may become faculty at some point in the future, faculty are involved in their hiring and evaluation. Currently, administrators are evaluated every year. The evaluation process is now being examined and several proposals have been made, which were discussed by council members.

VIII. Shared Governance Reports

A. Curriculum Committee – Bob Davis.

The outgoing chair of the Curriculum Committee reviewed the new majors, programs and courses that were passed through the committee during the Spring 2009 semester.

IX. Special Order of Business

Continuing and outgoing Council members and officers were thanked and honored with certificates.

- A. Seating of 2009-2010 Executive Council Members Senate Election Commissioners Fred Chavaria. Chavaria announced the names of the ongoing and new 2009 10 Council Members.
- B. Election of Senate Officers Senate Election Commissioner Fred Chavaria.

Hal Huntsman was elected as President.

Edgar Torres was elected as 1st Vice President.

Elliott Osborne was elected as 2nd Vice President.

Beth Cataldo was elected as Secretary.

C. Approval of the Date for Fall Senate Retreat.The Fall Academic Senate Executive Council Retreat will be Friday, September 11, 2009.

X. Adjournment

Council adjourned at 4:50 pm.

Respectfully submitted, Karen Saginor, Academic Senate Secretary

APPENDIX A

Committee Appointments

Appointments to Committees with Limited Membership

Basic Skills Ad Hoc Coordinating Committee

Paul Johnson Disabled Students Programs and Services

Maria Rosales-Uribe Transitional Studies

Kim Wise Special Assignment / AASP

Discrimination Harassment Prevention

Carmen Lamha Computer Sciences

Distance Learning

Deborah Kitchin Business

Equivalency Ophelia Clark (Reappointment) Business

Faculty Position Allocation

Lorraine Leber (Resource, Reappointment) Graphic Communications

Planning & Budgeting Council

Susan Lopez (Reappointment) Karen Saginor **ESL**

Library/Learning Resources