Tuition and Fees

Tuition Banner

Important News!

COVID-19

To further limit the potential of COVID-19 spreading within our local community, City College of San Francisco temporarily suspended face to face student services and instruction effective Friday March 13.

Starting March 30, Student Services will continue offering remote services and you can continue to receive resources from our department websites and COVID-19 Corona Virus Response FAQs.

For questions or to request assistance please contact:

Please include your CCSF student ID number in your email message so we can better serve you.

*IMPORTANT: Any official submissions to the Tuition and Fees Office email must be submitted through your student email account or they will be rejected. (Please visit the Google Email FAQ for more info about your email account)


New Wait List Policy for Fall 2020

Starting Monday, June 15th, 2020, the window to add a course after being selected from the waitlist will be reduced from 48 hours to 24 hours for Fall 2020.

For Summer 2020: Students will still have 48 hours to add the course once notified.


Fee Information


Enrollment fee per semester unit: $46.00

___________________________________________________________________ 

Residency is established by physical presence in California for one year and one day prior to the first day of instruction, and evidence of intent to make California your permanent residence.  Students must be in a status that allows for them to establish residency.

Effective Summer 2017 Resident Student Enrollment Fee Table

UNITS AMOUNT UNITS AMOUNT
1 $46.00 11 $506.00
2 $92.00 12 $552.00
3 $138.00 13 $598.00
4 $184.00 14 $644.00
5 $230.00 15 $690.00
6 $276.00 16 $736.00
7 $322.00 17 $782.00
8 $368.00 18 $828.00
9 $414.00 19 $874.00
10 $460.00 20 $920.00

Note: The fee table does not include health, web and material fees.


Free City is a partnership between City College of San Francisco and the City and County of San Francisco funded by the voters of San Francisco to provide San Francisco residents free enrollment to City College of San Francisco.

  • Students may be eligible for Free City which covers their enrollment fees
  • Students may qualify if they are BOTH a California resident and a San Francisco resident;       
  • Students may qualify for a non-resident exemption, (i.e. AB540, AB13, AB2000) 

More FREE CITY Information...


Tuition Fee Increase:  As of Summer 2020 semester, the tuition fee increased from $234 to $290 per unit.

_____________________________________________________________ 

Tuition fee per semester unit: $290 + $46.00 enrollment fee per unit.

Capital outlay fee: $8 per unit. ($8 effective Summer 2020)

NOTE: Students may qualify for Reduced Fees and/or exemption of tuition fees. Please visit our Residency Office, located in Multi-Use Building (MUB) 188 or visit our Residency or Veterans website for more information.  

Under AB540:
As a nonresident you may be eligible to pay the $46 per unit fees just like California residents.
AB540 is a state law that exempts certain students who are not residents of California from paying non-resident tuition at California Community Colleges and California State Universities.

Students are eligible who meet all of the following requirements:

  • You attended a California high school for three or more years.
  • You graduated from a California high school or attained the equivalent of a high school diploma from California (e.g., GED or California Proficiency Exam).
  • You registered in Spring 2002 or later.
  • You completed a California Nonresident Tuition Exemption Request form.

 

Effective Summer 2020 Non-Resident Student Enrollment and Tuition Fee Table

UNITS ENROLLMENT TUITION CAPITOL OUTLAY TOTAL
1  $ 46.00  $ 290.00  $ 8.00  $ 344.00
2  $ 92.00  $ 580.00  $ 16.00  $ 688.00
3  $ 138.00  $ 870.00  $ 24.00  $ 1,032.00
4  $ 184.00  $ 1,160.00  $ 32.00  $ 1,376.00
5  $ 230.00  $ 1,450.00  $ 40.00  $ 1,720.00
6  $ 276.00  $ 1,740.00  $ 48.00  $ 2,064.00
7  $ 322.00  $ 2,030.00  $ 56.00  $ 2,408.00
8  $ 368.00  $ 2,320.00  $ 64.00  $ 2,752.00
9  $ 414.00  $ 2,610.00  $ 72.00  $ 3,096.00
10  $ 460.00  $ 2,900.00  $ 80.00  $ 3,440.00
11  $ 506.00  $ 3,190.00  $ 88.00  $ 3,784.00
12  $ 552.00  $ 3,480.00  $ 96.00  $ 4,128.00
13  $ 598.00  $ 3,770.00  $ 104.00  $ 4,472.00
14  $ 644.00  $ 4,060.00  $ 112.00  $ 4,816.00
15  $ 690.00  $ 4,350.00  $ 120.00  $ 5,160.00
16  $ 736.00  $ 4,640.00  $ 128.00  $ 5,504.00
17  $ 782.00  $ 4,930.00  $ 136.00  $ 5,848.00
18  $ 828.00  $ 5,220.00  $ 144.00  $ 6,192.00
19  $ 874.00  $ 5,510.00  $ 152.00  $ 6,536.00
20  $ 920.00  $ 5,800.00  $ 160.00  $ 6,880.00


Tuition Fee Increase:  As of Summer 2020 semester, the tuition fee increased from $234 to $290 per unit.

_____________________________________________________________ 

Tuition fee per semester unit: $290 + $46.00 enrollment fee per unit.

Capital outlay fee: $8 per unit. ($8 effective Summer 2020)

NOTE: Students may qualify for Reduced Fees and/or exemption of tuition fees. Please visit our Residency Office, located in Multi-Use Building (MUB) 188 or visit our Residency or Veterans website for more information.  

Under AB540:
As a nonresident you may be eligible to pay the $46 per unit fees just like California residents.
AB540 is a state law that exempts certain students who are not residents of California from paying non-resident tuition at California Community Colleges and California State Universities.

Students are eligible who meet all of the following requirements:

  • You attended a California high school for three or more years.
  • You graduated from a California high school or attained the equivalent of a high school diploma from California (e.g., GED or California Proficiency Exam).
  • You registered in Spring 2002 or later.
  • You completed a California Nonresident Tuition Exemption Request form.

 

Effective Summer 2020 Non-Resident Student Enrollment and Tuition Fee Table

UNITS ENROLLMENT TUITION CAPITOL OUTLAY TOTAL
1  $ 46.00  $ 290.00  $ 8.00  $ 344.00
2  $ 92.00  $ 580.00  $ 16.00  $ 688.00
3  $ 138.00  $ 870.00  $ 24.00  $ 1,032.00
4  $ 184.00  $ 1,160.00  $ 32.00  $ 1,376.00
5  $ 230.00  $ 1,450.00  $ 40.00  $ 1,720.00
6  $ 276.00  $ 1,740.00  $ 48.00  $ 2,064.00
7  $ 322.00  $ 2,030.00  $ 56.00  $ 2,408.00
8  $ 368.00  $ 2,320.00  $ 64.00  $ 2,752.00
9  $ 414.00  $ 2,610.00  $ 72.00  $ 3,096.00
10  $ 460.00  $ 2,900.00  $ 80.00  $ 3,440.00
11  $ 506.00  $ 3,190.00  $ 88.00  $ 3,784.00
12  $ 552.00  $ 3,480.00  $ 96.00  $ 4,128.00
13  $ 598.00  $ 3,770.00  $ 104.00  $ 4,472.00
14  $ 644.00  $ 4,060.00  $ 112.00  $ 4,816.00
15  $ 690.00  $ 4,350.00  $ 120.00  $ 5,160.00
16  $ 736.00  $ 4,640.00  $ 128.00  $ 5,504.00
17  $ 782.00  $ 4,930.00  $ 136.00  $ 5,848.00
18  $ 828.00  $ 5,220.00  $ 144.00  $ 6,192.00
19  $ 874.00  $ 5,510.00  $ 152.00  $ 6,536.00
20  $ 920.00  $ 5,800.00  $ 160.00  $ 6,880.00


Information Regarding AB 2210, Section 68075.65

Education Code section 68075.6 grants an immediate nonresident tuition fee exemption to eligible Special Immigrant Visa (SIV) holders and refugee students who settled in California upon entering the United States. 

This exemption applies to the following:

  • Iraqi citizens or nationals (and their spouses and children) who were employed by or on behalf the United States Government in Iraq.
  • Afghan and Iraqi translators (and their spouses and children) who worked directly with the United States Armed Forces.
  • Afghanistan nationals (and their spouses and children) who were employed by or on behalf of the U.S. government or in the International Security Assistance Force (ISAF) in Afghanistan.
  • Refugee students admitted to the United States under section 1157 of Title 8 of the United States Code.
.


Student Health Fee (all students): $20.00 (Summer Semester $16.00) (Mandatory)

NOTE: Students who qualify in the following categories will be exempted from payment of the health fee:

  • Students who depend exclusively upon prayer for healing in accordance with the teachings of bona fide religious sect, denomination, or organization. (Documentation required.)
  • Students who are attending college under an approved apprenticeship training program.

Student Activities Fee: $7 (Optional) (No Student Activities Fee for Summer)

Student Representative Fee: $2 (Optional) (No Student Representative Fees for Summer)

Web4 User Fee: One-time $3.00 fee per semester (non-refundable)

Note: myRAM Portal will assess a $3.00 user fee per semester. Students may also choose to register during the Open / In Person Registration Period to avoid paying the user fee (see registration calendar) There is no user fee during ADD/DROP Period.

Return Check Charge: $25.00 fee per check returned.

Additional Instructional Materials: Students are expected to purchase textbooks, lab books, workbooks, pens, pencils and paper. In addition, some courses, students are expected to provide tools, equipment, clothing, materials, or to purchase additional materials. All course that are assessed a material fee are identified in the class schedule with the indication of the amount assessed below the course title. An estimate of the cost of additional materials or fees for any class may be obtained from the appropriate department or center.

 

1. When must I pay my fees?

All fees are due at the time of registration. You may either pay by credit card, check, or cash. Students are assessed tuition fee, enrollment fee, health fee, associated student’s activity fee, student representation fee, myRAM Portal user fee and in some cases, instructional materials fees.

What should I do if I cannot afford to pay my fees at the time of registration?

You should:

A.       Apply for financial aid, by filling out the FAFSA (www.FAFSA.gov), and/or apply for a California College Promise Grant (Formerly Board of Governor’s Fee Waiver)

B.       Sign up for a payment plan (the district payment plan is administered by Nelnet Business Solutions to spread your payments out during the semester. Once classes have begun, you must drop your classes by the mandated deadline dates to avoid unwanted fees/charges.

2. How do I sign up for a Nelnet payment plan?

Simple Steps to sign-up for a Nelnet payment plan

·         Login at ramid.ccsf.edu (log in using your Student ID and Password #).

·         Click on the Student Account > Installment Plan

If you use cash ONLY, you will NOT be able to participate in the payment plan.

To participate in the NBS payment plan you are required to use a credit or debit card for automatic payment.  If you only use cash as a form of payment, Students will be required to pay in full in person at the Registration Center, MUB 130B at the Ocean campus.

3. What are the costs associated with the payment plan?

A summary of all the fees associated with the payment plan is listed below.

Fees payable by students who sign up for the payment plan   -

Description of Fee

Amount

Remarks

Sign-up fee

$18

$18 per semester.

Processing Fee

$2

$2 For full payments received through NBS payment portal.

Return Payment  Fee

$30

$30 for each returned payment due to insufficient credit or Debit account.

Interest

$0

No interest will be assessed for any balance on the payment plan.

 

 

4. How do I make payments?

You can make payment plan payments with a Credit or Debit Card, you will make all payments directly to Nelnet Business Solutions, not to the Registration Office. If you only use cash, you will not be able to participate in the payment plan.

5. Is there any minimum amount I need to owe to sign up for a payment plan?

No. NBS will allow you to set up a payment for any outstanding balance. However, it is recommended that students who owe less than $50.00 pay their fees in full to avoid the additional $18.00 payment plan set up fee.

6. What if I add or reduce my total unit load such that my payment plan balance changes?

Nelnet Business Solution will decrease or increase your payment amounts automatically (depending on the balance due). You may contact NBS with any questions regarding your Payment Plan. You may contact Nelnet Business Solutions to inform them that your fee balance has changed. They can assist you in adjusting your payment plan up or down. You can contact NBS at 800-609-8056.

7. What if I decide that I want to pay off my plan balance early?

Students who pay their fees in full 72 hours prior to their payment plan due date will not have their scheduled payment amount deducted direct from their account. You may contact NBS to schedule payment in full at 800-609-8056.

8. What if I default on my payment plan?

If you default on your payment plan, you will have a hold placed on your record before the end of the term and you will not be able to register for any subsequent terms until the balance is paid in full. You will not be able to request official transcripts until your fees have been paid in full. In addition, you will be sent to collections for the outstanding fees owed to the college. If you pay your outstanding balance and enroll in a subsequent term, you will be able to sign up for another payment plan.

9. Who should I contact if I have a question about my payment plan?

You can log in to the www.mypaymentplan.com which will take you directly to "Manage Your Account". You will need your NBS agreement number provided to you when you initially enrolled in the payment plan to manage your account. If you have forgotten this number contact NBS directly at 800-609-8056. Agents are available 24/7.

10. Can I sign up for a payment plan at any time during the semester?

No. There is a deadline date established each semester. After that date you will not be able to sign up for a payment plan. (See www.mycollegepaymentplan.com/ccsf) The later that you sign up for the plan, the fewer payments you’ll make but the amounts will be larger.

                                                   

Summer 2020

Last Day to sign-up

for a payment Plan Option

Down

Payment

Required

Number

of

Payments

Months

of 

Payments

April 24

20%

2

May & June

May 27

20%

1

June Only

 

Fall 2020

Last Day to sign-up

for a payment Plan Option

Down

Payment

Required

Number

of

Payments

Months

of 

Payments

June 25

20%

5

July - Nov

July 27

20%

4

Aug - Nov

Aug 27

20%

3

Sept - Nov

 

11. Do I have to be determined eligible for financial aid in order not to be dropped from my classes by the deadline?

No. If you filed a FAFSA and your FAFSA was processed by the Federal Central Processor and received by the Financial Aid Office within five business days of the drop date, you will not be dropped. You should plan to file at least two weeks prior to your registration date to ensure that CCSF receive your FAFSA.

12. I have applied for and received a California College Promise Grant (CCPG) (Formerly Board of Governor’s Grant) waiver. Will this fee waiver cover all my fees?

No, the CCPG only covers enrollment fees. It does not cover additional fees you are assessed (e.g. health fee, student body fee, student representation fee, instructional materials fees, etc.) If you cannot pay these additional fees, you are encouraged to apply for federal financial aid by filling out the FAFSA (www.FAFSA.gov). While you will not be dropped if you file a CCPG, you are responsible for the payment of the additional fees. Failure to pay any remaining balance will prevent you from registering in subsequent semesters.

13. I am a California resident and I am being charged as a non-resident student. What should I do?

You must submit proof of California Residency to the Residency Unit, in the Office of Admissions and Records, MUB 188 at the Ocean Campus or at resident@ccsf.edu.

14. Will I still be able to pay by check?

Yes. You may pay by check before the payment due date in the Registration Center, MUB 130B at the Ocean Campus. You may mail your check to the Registration Center, MUB 130B, 50 Frida Kahlo Way, San Francisco, CA 94112 (Please allow 48 hours before your due date for processing).

 


Tax Information


New Reporting Requirement for 2018 Tax Year

·2018 Tax year - Billed qualified tuition and related expenses (QTRE) will no longer be reported in Box 2. Due to a change in institutional reporting requirements under federal law, beginning with tax year 2018, we will report in Box 1 the amount of QTRE paid during the calendar year. Box 2 will remain blank/will be greyed out.

·Impact to your 2018 Form 1098T - For the tax year ending December 31st, 2018, the amount reported in Box 1 may include your Spring 2018 payments only if the payments were received in 2018. In this instance, due to the reporting changes, the same amount could be reported in Box 2 of your 2017 Form 1098-T (as an amount billed to your student account in 2017) and in Box 1 of your 2018 Form 1098-T (as a received payment in calendar year 2018). CCSF is unable to provide you with individual tax advice, but should you have question, please seek the counsel of an informed tax preparer or adviser.


Frequently Asked Questions

Q: What is the IRS Form 1098-T?

A: The Form 1098-T is intended to help students and families in determining if you are eligible for an Education Tax Credit. 1098-T statements are available on or before January 31st for the prior tax year. It provides the total dollar amount paid by the student for what is referred to as qualified tuition and related expenses (or “QTRE”) in a single tax year.

Q: What is considered as Qualified Tuition and Related Expenses (or “QTRE”)?

A: According to the IRS, qualified expenses are amounts paid for tuition, fees and other related expenses for an eligible student that are required for enrollment or attendance at an eligible educational institution. Please visit https://www.irs.gov/credits-deductions/individuals/qualified-ed-expenses for further information.

Q: When will I receive my Form 1098-T?

A: Your Form 1098-T will be available to you electronically on or before January 31 (or the next business day) through myRam Portal (select ‘Student Account’, then ‘Tax Notification’) account unless you requested to receive your 1098-T statement in paper form via the USPS. If you requested a paper form, the 1098-T statement will be mailed to your most recent address on our records.

Q: Why don’t the numbers on Form 1098-T equal the amounts I paid to the CCSF during the year?

A: There are potentially many reasons for this discrepancy. First, the amount in Box 1 only represents the lesser of the amounts paid for QTRE or the amounts charged in a single tax year. Furthermore, QTRE does not include payments made for non-mandatory fees such as insurance, health service fees, or parking which, though important, are not considered mandatory education expenses for tax purposes. Secondly, Form 1098-T reports amounts that the student paid in a certain year, and the pay date does not necessarily correspond to the dates that the classes were attended.

For example, tuition for the Spring semester is typically billed in November so a student may have paid tuition for the Spring semester in 2017 despite the fact that classes didn’t start until 2018.

Q: Does the 1098-T include charges for books?

A: No, the CCSF does not include amounts paid for books in Box 1 of Form 1098-T.  You should consult with your tax advisor to determine if payments for books, equipment or fees should be considered when preparing your income tax returns and determining eligibility for education tax credits or deductions.

Q: Why didn’t I receive a 1098-T?

A: There could be a number of reasons, but it could be due to one of the following:

  • Your qualified tuition and related expenses were covered entirely by Scholarships/or grants, or an arrangement between us and your employer or some government entity.
  • You are not a US resident (you are listed as an international (foreign)student for tax purposes.)
  • You received no academic credit for calendar year.
  • Your tuition was billed in a different calendar year.

Q: My personal information (name, Address, TIN, SSN...) is incorrect.  What should I do?

A: This information was obtained from the information you provided to City College of San Francisco.  Please contact the office of Admissions and Records at (415) 239-3285 or visit the office in MUB 188, if any changes need to be made. Once you have submitted the correction(s). Please note that the revised 1098-T will not be available until the appropriate corrections have been processed by Admissions and Records Office.

Reporting to the IRS depends primarily on your SSN or ITIN. It is very important for you to have the correct information on file with City College.  

Follow these steps to have a corrected Form 1098-T generated:

Step 1: Complete a W-9s form. You can find the form at https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/fw9s.pdf. Please read and complete the form per the instructions and bring it to Admissions and Records in Person. You will also need your Social Security Card or Individual Taxpayer Identification letter (from the IRS) and your student ID (for identification purposes).

Step 2: If you have already corrected your social security number (SSN) or individual taxpayer identification number (ITIN) through Admissions and Records, please contact the Bursar’s Office at (415) 239-3760 to have a new 1098-T be available through myRam Portal.

Q: Why wasn’t the form mailed?

A: To continue to promote sustainability and paperless processes, you may have chosen to print your 1098-T on myRam Portal rather than having it mailed.  By consenting to receive an electronic form you will be able to view, print, and save the form via myRam Portal/.  Any changes to that option needs to be requested at the Bursar’s Office, Conlan 103, on the Ocean Campus in person.


1. How will this debt affect my credit rating/standing?

This attempt to collect the outstanding balance on your account will not affect your credit rating. However, your account will be sent to the State of California for collection through your tax refund or lottery winnings. Currently, CCSF does not charge late fees or interest. We do not report your account debt to a collection reporting agency.

2. I received a bill for an outstanding balance that I recently paid?

If you have recently paid your outstanding balance, please disregard this bill and thank you for your prompt attention to this matter.

3. Can I set up a payment plan to take care of this debt?

You may choose to pay your outstanding balance in installments. However, the collection of your debt will continue to go through the State COTOP system.

4. What will happen if I do not pay the bill or cannot pay the bill?

If you choose to not act at this time, the debt will be reported to the State Collection COTOP system.

5. What is the procedure for appealing the charges?

Students who believe their account charges are an error may complete a Student Account Review Form. Students must submit official documentation with the appeal form.

6. Can I view my records online so that I can check the charges?

Yes, you can. Go to your myRAM Portal. Click on Log in using your student ID# and your password. Click on tab for 'Student Account'. To view your account info, click on 'View Student Account by Term' to determine what semester the balance is due for. To view course enrollment info, click on 'Student Portal', then 'Student Registration'.

7. Who can I speak to regarding this debt?

If you need further assistance, please email the Tuition and Fees Office at  tuition@ccsf.edu or you may call the Tuition and Fees Office at 415-239- 3522 between the hours of 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. Due to the FERPA regulations we are not able to discuss the details a student’s account over the phone.

8. Can I find out about a CCSF student account that is not mine (such as my wife or my son’s records)?

No. Unfortunately, we are unable to release or discuss student account information to a third party. Additionally, we are not able to give out information over the phone.

9. Can I find out about a student’s account my company was supposed to pay (third party vendor. I.e. Dept of Rehabilitation)?

(Please see answer to #8)

10. I was eligible for Financial Aid and should not have a bill for courses. What should I do to correct this error?

You should check your myRAM Portal account to confirm that you received an award for that term. For any discrepancies, please contact the Financial Aid Department 415-239-3577.

11. I dropped the course on time, but I am still being charged for the course. How do I correct this?

Verify official deadline date to drop by checking the class schedule (www.ccsf.edu/schedule). If the class schedule is no longer available online, then you can verify the date with the Registration Office.

12. I did not attend the class I am being billed for. How do I get my records corrected?

If you dropped the class, we will need a receipt or record of your drop request. In order to correct your records, we will need proof to correct your records. It is the student’s responsibility to drop courses by mandated deadline dates to avoid unwanted grades/fees. You may wish to speak with your instructor about any miscommunication.

13. The instructor said he would drop me if I did not attend but the course was not dropped. How do I get my records corrected?

It is the student’s responsibility to drop courses by mandated deadline dates to avoid unwanted grades/fees. You may wish to speak with your instructor about any miscommunication.