Workforce & Economic Development

Doing What Matters for Jobs and the Economy

The purpose of the Economic and Workforce Development (EWD) Program is to advance the state's economic growth and global competitiveness through education, training, and services.  These are designed to contribute to continuous workforce improvement, technology deployment and business development consistent with the state's regional economies.

The role of community colleges in this effort is to fulfill the workforce training needs of California business and industry through leadership, communication, and liaisons with the private sector as well as with public sector education and training providers.  
 

Doing What MATTERS for jobs and the economy is a four-pronged framework to respond to the call of our nation, state, and regions to close the skills gap. The four prongs are:

- Give Priority for jobs and the economy
- Make Room for jobs and the economy
- Promote Student Success
- Innovate for jobs and the economy

Other Regional Workforce Partners:

San Francisco Office of Economic and Workforce Development

The City of San Francisco has identified 4 priority sectors:
1) Information & Communication Technologies (ICT)
2) Hospitality and Tourism
3) Construction
4) Health

Bay Area Community College Consortium (BACCC)

The Bay Area has identified 10 priority sectors:

Advanced Manufacturing
Mark Martin
650.248.7728
mark.martin@design4x.com  
Laney College 
Advanced Transportation & Renewables
Gerald Bernstein
415.550.4437
gbernste@ccsf.edu
City College of San Francisco
Agriculture, Water & Environmental Technologies David Esmaili
408.741.4693
david.esmaili@westvalley.edu
West Valley College
Energy (Efficiency) & Utilities
Catherine Ayers
650.593.4701
v_ayerscatherine@fhda.edu
Foothill College

Global Trade & Logistics
Richard Soyombo
650.738.7098
soyombo@smccd.edu
Skyline College

Petural (PJ) Shelton
510.594.1871
pshelton@peralta.edu
College of Alameda

Health
Cynthia Harrison
408.855.5340 or 408.855.5215
cynthia.harrison@wvm.edu

Mission College
Barbara Brock
707.815.5733
barbara.brock@solano.edu
Solano Community College

Information & Communication Technologies (ICT)/Digital Media
Olivia Davalos
831.755.6782
odavalos@hartnell.edu
Hartnell College

Sandy Jones
925.956.3801
inspireyourstudents@gmail.com
City College of San Francisco

Life Sciences/Biotech
Josie Sette
510.979.7952
jsette@ohlone.edu
Ohlone College
Retail/Hospitality/Tourism 'Learn and Earn'
Andrea Vizenor
650.766.5060 or 650.738.7124
vizenora@smccd.edu
Skyline College

Small Business
Alex Kramer
831.479.6330
alkramer@cabrillo.edu
Cabrillo College

Charles Monahan
707.256.7255
cmonahan@napavalley.edu
Napa Valley College