Constituent Updates March 19


Administrator News

Academic Senate News

Classified Senate News

Faculty Association News

2013 Academic Senate Executive Council Elections


2013 Academic Senate Executive Council Elections - Now Open


With the buzz of accreditation and frenzy of a new semester all around us, it may have gone unnoticed that the Academic Senate Executive Council elections are upon us again. Your experience, expertise and insight are needed now more than ever, as the College seeks guidance through the challenging path ahead. As with prior years, the 2013 election will be conducted online, though individuals may opt in for a paper ballot following directions on the Academic Senate webpage.


All full-time, part-time, credit and non-credit faculty members are eligible to vote and seek nomination to Executive Council. With fourteen seats open, please consider running or encouraging your colleagues to do so. Faculty interested in running for Executive Council should fill out a Petition for Nomination.


Completed nominations must be received at the Academic Senate Office, Conlan Hall, Room E202 by 1:00 PM Friday, April 5, 2013. A complete schedule of election dates, information, forms and deadlines may be found on the Academic Senate website and in documents below. Questions may be directed to individual Election Commissioners or


-2013 Academic Senate Election Commissioners: James Armstrong, Alan D’Souza & Lorraine Leber



Check the Academic Senate website or links below:


Election Schedule


Executive Council and Election Information


Petition for Nomination


Request for Paper Ballot


Academic Senate Committee Openings and Appointments

text new appointments Academic Senate
text Academic Senate vacancy

Executive  Council Nominations Extended to April 12 - Election Information

The Academic Senate Executive Council is seeking additional candidates and the deadline for nominations has been extended to April 12. Petitions for nomination now require just one signature.

Not sure about getting involved? Here's what faculty have to say about serving in the Senate:

“Being on the Executive Council has been a good experience for me, even though I thought that I didn't have enough knowledge to participate. Meeting faculty from other disciplines and about departmental concerns and issues has been the best part. We all have something to contribute. It's difficult, sometimes, to speak on behalf of my department, noncredit, and campuses, rather than myself, but I think I’m better for it and I have learned a lot about how things work at CCSF – or should work. I urge everyone to take the opportunity to serve.”
– Vivian Ikeda

“We need the great mix of people we have always had – young and old, experienced and new – to run for election to the Council.”
 – Ellen Wall

“The benefits for Council members include making a difference for student learning, gaining familiarity with many aspects of CCSF, and the sincere appreciation of your colleagues. The Council offers both civic engagement and life-long learning.
      Who will be representing your department next year on the Academic Senate Executive Council? Who will speak for the needs of the students you serve? We can do the best job for our college and our students if our Executive Council members are diverse in length of time at CCSF, ethnicity, experience, discipline, home campus, point of view and every other way.”
–  Karen Saginor

The deadline for Nomination Petitions has been extended to Friday, April 12 at 1:00 pm.
Follow this link to the Petition for Nomination Form:
or download the file here:

What will you do as a member of the Executive Council?
The Executive Council meetsevery other Wednesday afternoon, 2:30 to 5:00 to make recommendations to the administration and the Board of Trustees about academic and professional matters. The work of the Academic Senate is essential for meeting Accreditation Standards.

And find links to more Election information at

If you have questions about the election process or would like more information, please contact our election commissioners: James Armstrong; Alan D’Souza; or Lorraine Leber

Student Actvities

image Google Calendar