California Community Colleges Student Success Stories skip navigation

Teresa Telles

Teresa Telles Statue FrontTeresa Telles Statue BackTeresa Telles

My name is Teresa Telles, I am a 28-year-old single mother of two beautiful children. I was born and raised in Oxnard, California. I am currently attending the University of La Verne working toward a Masters Degree in Educational Counseling with a PPS credential. I am also working full-time for the Boys and Girls Clubs of Oxnard’s Youth Empowerment Program as an Academic and Career Advisor.

My challenges date back to my childhood years where at the early ate of 12 I found myself faced with the perplexing task of raising myself. This was due to my mother’s random imprisonment and drug addiction and my father’s instability in keeping jobs and homes, the instability of being a cared for by various relatives, over an extended period of time, caused me to lose all confidence sense of guidance and any ambition for life. I ended up dropping out of school in the 9th grade, since I was completely unaware of the significance of education. Then a meaningful point in my life occurred, I became pregnant at the tender age of sixteen. The idea of having someone depend on me, made me realize that I needed to set goals in my life that would produce worthy opportunities for my future child. At that point a cycle of positive events leading to completing my goals was initiated. I placed myself back in high school and successfully completed the required academic standards to obtain a high school diploma. Five years later, after taking on odd jobs in order to support my child and me. I found myself living paycheck by paycheck and after the birth of my second child I realized that I needed to pursue a higher education to support my children and I, since the father of my children was not willing and incapable of supporting my children.

I then enrolled myself at Oxnard Community College, began working part-time and applied for CalWORKs which lent a much needed financial hand in supporting my educational goals. While attending Oxnard Community College I joined the Extended Opportunities Programs and Services (EOPS) witch informed me about a program that was geared toward aiding CalWORKs students. The program was CARE. This program offered me the support and guidance that was needed while attempting to reach my academic goals. Since then I have achieved an Associates degree in Sociology, an Associates degree in G.L.A.S and my undergraduate requirements to transfer to a four year university while attending Oxnard community college. I then, transferred onto California State University Channel Islands where I received a Bachelors Degree in sociology. I was a recipient of CalWORKs the entire duration of my academic achievements.

None of my accomplishments could have been possible without the help of these programs because they expose individuals whom are not accustomed to the college lifestyle and help in steal motivation and perseverance in these students. I was one of these individuals and these programs inspired me to move forward with my education. This experience would have been virtually impossible without the help of these programs. As single mother of two with no education and very little work experience I would have never thought I would be where I am today. My community college experience was a gate way to my educational accomplishments and can be for many others in California.