Faculty In Review

Latin American & Latino/a Studies Department

photo of Cuellar Jose B

Jose B Cuellar

Latin American & Latino/a Studies Department

I earned an A.A. in music from Golden West College (1968), a B.A. in anthropology from CSU Long Beach (1969), an M.A. (1971) and Ph.D. (1977) in anthropology from the UCLA.

I have been teaching at CCSF since 2006. My prior teaching and research positions include: Claremont Colleges (1971-73, 1975-77), University of Southern California (1973-75), University of Colorado at Boulder (1977-78), University of California at Santa Barbara (1978-79), Allied Home Health Association (1979-80), San Diego State University (1980-85), Stanford University (1983-88), the Prevention Research Center & the University of California at Berkeley (1988-90), the University of California at Berkeley (1998-99), Professor of Raza Studies at San Francisco State University (1990-2010).

I am committed to preparing my students with the skills, structure and discipline necessary to not only survive but thrive in both academic and non-academic contexts.

My recent publications: "El Saxofón in Tejano and Norteño Music" in ¡Puro Conjunto! An Album in Words and Pictures (2001); "Chicanismo" in The Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures (2002); "Cesar E. Chavez" and "Farm Labor" in Pollution--A to Z. (2003); "Notas en el Viento: The Musical Soundtrack of Alambrista The Director's Cut" in 'Alambrista' And The US-Mexico Border: Film, Music And Stories Of Undocumented Immigrants (2004); “El Saxofon in Texas – Mexican Borderlands Musica” in Gateways: Northeastern Mexico and South Tejas, One Region, One Culture: An Anthology of Essays (2010).

My recent honors/awards: The Diversity in Teaching and Learning Distinguished Faculty Award (2000); CSU Long Beach’s Chicano & Latino Studies Department’s Certificate of Achievement for Outstanding Leadership and Contributions to the Chicano/Latino Community (2000); Distinguished Alumnus, California State University at Long Beach’s College of Arts and Letters (2002); Golden West Community College’s Pillar of Achievement Award (2003); San Francisco Arts Commissioner (2005-2007); Denver’s Escuela Tlatelolco’s Champion of Change Award (2006); SFSU Professor Emeritus of Raza Studies (2010).

Over the past two decades, I have gained international recognition as lead multi-instrumentalist and vocalist, especially with my Dr. Loco’s Rockin’ Jalapeño Band, as well as executive producer of four music albums (Con/Safos, 1991; Movimiento Music, 1992; Puro Party! 1995; Barrio Ritmos & Blues, 1998), plus a feature film soundtrack (Alambrista! The Director’s Cut, 2004).


photo of Guadamuz Maria Elena

Maria Elena Guadamuz

Latin American & Latino/a Studies Department

B.S. Political Science, Santa Clara University
Ph.D Political Science, University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA)


Dr. Guadamuz has been teaching at CCSF since 2013


photo of Landau Gregory P

Gregory P Landau

Latin American & Latino/a Studies Department

B.A., University of California, Berkeley; M.A., Ph.D., University of California, San Diego

Mr. Landau has been teaching at CCSF since 1994.

His educational goal is to provide students with the "tools for living" and critical thinking skills that will allow them to understand the social and economic forces around them.

He is on the Board of Governors of NARAS, the Advisory Board of Accion Latina, Yerba Buena Gardens Festival.

Mr. Landau is also a music producer and a video producer. He has produced over 60 CD's with 5 Grammy nominations. Mr. Landau has produced five films and five TV commercials as well as several film scores and worked as music supervisor on numberous films..


photo of Landeros Monica F

Monica F Landeros

Latin American & Latino/a Studies Department

Biography is unavailable at this time.


photo of Mojica Marco A

Marco A Mojica

Latin American & Latino/a Studies Department

Attended City College of San Francisco
San Francisco State University, B.A. International Relations
Ohio University, MAIA, Latin American Studies
Ph.D candidate in Politics at University of California at Santa Cruz










Prof. Mojica has been teaching at CCSF since 2001.

My educational philosophy focuses on stregthening the students' abilities to critically analize their world and to become active and engaged participants in their education. In the classroom, I promote the idea of a "learning community," a safe space where students can share their ideas, opinions and life histories as important to enriching the community's knowledge. Furthermore, students are asked to work individually and collaboratively in the classroom, as forms of learning and processing the course materials and their overall educational experience. Finally, my goal is to provide students with important tools necessary for enabling their success at the City College of San Francisco, the University and beyond...

Mentor, Men's Support Group, Latino Services Network. Faculty Advisor, La Raza Unida, Spring 2002-Spring 2003.

CONFERENCE PAPERS & PRESENTATIONS

Rescatistas, Renovadores y Danielistas: The Struggle for the Sandinista Identity in the 21st Century. Latin American Studies Association. San Francisco, CA May 25, 2012.
From Exlies to Immigrants: The Transnational Politics of Nicaraguans in Miami. Central American-Americans in the Latino@ American Landscape. University of Texas, Austin. February 25, 2012.
Exploring the Submerged Tensions between Migrant Transnationalism and Assimilation. Western Political Science Association Latino Caucus. San Francisco, CA. March 31, 2010
Drug War Impact on Latinos in the United States and Latin America. Latino Heritage Month Lecture Series. City College of San Francisco. September 17, 2009.
Mistica, Memoria y Nostalgia: The Construction of the Sandinista Political identity in Nicaragua. Latin American Studies Conference, Montreal, Canada. September 6-8, 2007.
Mistica, Memoria y Nostalgia: The Construction of the Sandinista Political Identity in Nicaragua. 48th International Studies Association Conference, Chicago, IL, February 28, 2007.
Nicaraguans in Miami: Forging a Transnational Politics. Latin@/Americans in a Global Context Conference. UC Santa Cruz, May 12, 2006.
Nicaraguans in Miami: Forging a Transnational Politics, Latin American Studies Association Conference, San Juan, Puerto Rico. March 15, 2006.
"Con Díos y con el Diablo” Sandinista Politics in Neoliberal Nicaragua. Presented at the CLRC Mini Grant Colloquium, University of California at Santa Cruz, October 14, 2005
Nicaraguans in Miami: Developing a Transnational Civil Society. Presented at Mid-Atlantic Congress of Latin American Studies, Virginia Commonwealth University. April 8, 2005.
Adding diversity: What's the difference? Panel at the Independent Sector conference in Kansas City, MO, November 1997

PUBLISHED WORKS

Perla, Hector, Marco Mojica & Jared Bibler. "From Guerrilla to Government: The Continued Relevance of the Central American Left." In The New Latin American Left: Cracks in the Empire. Edited by Jeffery R. Webber and Barry Carr. Latin American Perspectives Classroom Book Series, Rowman and Littlefield. 2012.
Mojica, Marco. "Los Nicaraguenses en Miami: Forjando una Politica Transnacional". L'Ordinaire Latino-Americain. No. 211. Septiembre-Diciembre 2008.
Mojica, Marco and Diego Ferreyra, eds. “TLC y Sociedad Civil Centroamericana” CRIES, No 1-9, 2000.
Mojica, Marco. “El Teléfono,” Cipactli. La Raza Studies: San Francisco State University. Winter/Spring 1995.
Mojica, Marco, et al. “International Terrorism.” Issues of the 45th Session Charter Review. Model United Nations of the Far West: San Francisco State University, 1994.

TRANSLATIONS
Liliana Castro & Marco Mojica. Guia para escribir propuestas The Foundation Center, 2001. 3rd Edition. P. 252

PROFESSIONAL ASSOCIATIONS
Latin American Studies Association (LASA)
Latino Educational Association (LEA)

Prof. Mojica loves music and plays guitar and congas with his children.


photo of Piper Mark

Mark Piper

Latin American & Latino/a Studies Department

B.A. in History from SFSU, 2006
M.A. in History with a concentration in Latin America, 2008




Prof. Piper has been teaching at CCSF since 2008

My years as a student were valuable beyond knowledge as I was able to fine-tune my approach to history and education in my work as a TA in the History Department at SFSU. I found some of my instructors dull or uninterested, while I found others that I admired. I have sought to combine in my teaching the best of my experiences. Thus I seek a more much dynamic approach to the history of Mexico and Latin America. History should not be dry and boring; I present history instead as a human narrative, a story, meant to instruct and fascinate. While I have been called many things, I have never been called boring.

My personal goal as a teacher is to reduce the general ignorance about Latin America one generally finds in the US. Beyond simple dates, names and places, I use a behind the scenes approach to show why historical events have occurred and how we can see ourselves in the history of our past. I seek to work with all levels of students both in traditional classroom and electronic settings. My courses are not easy grades; I require effort and commitment. However, over 50 percent of my students achieve A or B grades. My syllabus is a contract I make with my students to support them in their quest for knowledge.

In Spring 2012, I opened a new course, LALS9/LGBT 9, that examines LGBT in Latin America. I wrote this course as a response to the general lack of study of Latino/a Latin American LGBT. This social science course shows the presence of LGBT in the indgene world of the Americas, in the Spanish colonial period, in the nationalist 19/20th century as well as in the millenial age. Indigene LGBT, colonial Inquisitional persecution, LGBT liberation, obscenity, immigration, Cuba, and same sex marriage are studied in depth. This course is CSU/UC IGETC transferable.

Though I am a teacher that delivers intense lectures, I am also the type of instructor that will take an hour or two to work with a challenged student. All of my lectures are supported with DropBox and Powerpoint handouts. I am bilingual in English and Spanish, and in cuss words in about another ten languages.

A member of various philatelic and historical societies. I have a long history of volunteer participation with various local non-profits whose goals I seek to empower. I was an early volunteer with Shanti, and later worked as an assistant for attorney Martha Ball Price at AIDS Benefits Counselors. ABC assisted HIV clients in processing their social security benefits. In the 1990s I was a volunteer with a medical marijuana dispensary. During the 2008 election, I was a volunteer with the NO on 8 campaign. In the 2010 elections, I was a field organizer with AFT/CFT, succesfully mobilizing faculty at CCSF to support CA Proposition 25.

Master's Thesis: Guantanamo, Different Visions of Empire, 2008
Undergraduate: The Holy Office of the Inquisition in the New World: Sorcerers and Plants in the New World. Published in the SFSU History Department journal Ex Post Facto, 2006
Graduate: The Cuban Convertible Peso: A Redefinition of Dependence. Published in the SFSU History Department journal Ex Post Facto, 2008.
Sugar, 2002 Congress Book - a study of Cuban canaveral stationery of the 1960s
Baracoa - Cuba's First City - A Postal History, Journal of Cuban Philately, August 2012
Cuban Airmail Convertible Peso Postal Cards, UPSS, May/June 2013, July/Aug 2013
Numerous articles in philatelic journals in the US, England and South Africa
Recipient as co-author of vermeil prize for literature at the Cuban National Stamp Exposition, Havana, 2005

Beyond being a rather decent cook, I am also known as a pre-eminent stamp collector with a focus on the US, Socialist Cuba and Latin America. I am also a major fan of DJ music. I like to garden and have a passion for Western memorabilia.


photo of Quadra Indiana G

Indiana G Quadra

Latin American & Latino/a Studies Department

B.A., San Francisco State University; M.A., University of San Francisco

Ms. Quadra has been a faculty member of CCSF since 1978. She recently retired as the Chair of the Career Development Counseling Department and is currently a part-time faculty member of the Latin American and Latino Studies where she teaches LALS 10, Latina in the U.S. (the sole women's studies class in that department).

Ms. Quadra is a strong advocate for students, student services and quality education. As a bilingual, bicultural Latina and community member, she is a strong supporter of diversity and multicultural perspectives.

Ms. Quadra is presently a member of LEA, Latino Educators Association of CCSF after having served on the executive committee as President, Vice President and Secretary.

She is also a board member of ACE-Norcal and a member of the American Association of University Women,and a member of HOPE, Hispanas Organized for Political Equality, LLN - Latina Leadership Network, and the Region 4 Rep for the California Community College Statewide Career Advisory Committee.


photo of Torres Edgar L

Edgar L Torres

Chair, Latin American & Latino/a Studies Department

A.A., City College of San Francisco
A.B., University of California at Berkeley
M.A., University of California at Berkeley
C.P.I.L., University of California at Berkeley

Professor Torres has been teaching at CCSF since 2002.

He is Department Chair of the Latin American and Latino/a Studies Department.



Click here to complete biographical form
Click here to upload photograph